Black Emotional and Mental Health Collective: Black Healing Remixed

The Virtual Summit

Saturday, May 22
11am - 4pm PT | 2pm - 7pm ET

The Remix

In Black music, a remix is a new or different version of a recorded song. Black Healing Remixed (BHR) takes this same idea and applies it to conversations on Black mental health. Just like a remix switches the treble and bass, BHR switches shame to celebration, stigma to social justice and creates a new chorus of connection rooted in radical love for ourselves, practical skills, and liberation. JOIN US FOR THE REMIX.

The Remix is brought to you by BEAM, the Black Emotional and Mental Health Collective. BEAM is a national training, movement building and grant making institution dedicated to the healing, wellness and liberation of Black communities. Learn more at www.beam.community.

The Tracks

Saturday, May 22
Closed captioning and ASL interpretation will be available

Main Stage

Photo of Yolo Akili Robinson

What it Means to Remix Black Mental Health

11:00 am - 11:20 am PT | 2:00 pm - 2:20 pm ET

Studio 1

Photo of Cydney Brown
Photo of Leroy Mitchell

Black Masculinity Remixed: Re-Imagining Mental Health for Us

Training Facilitated by Leroy Mitchell and Cydney Brown

11:30 am - 1:00 pm PT | 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm ET

Studio 2

Photo of L'Oreal McCollum
Photo of Dr. Michael Chan-Frazier

Peer Support: Adding Healing Justice into the Mix

Training Facilitated by L’Oréal McCollum and Dr. Michael Chan-Frazier

11:30 am - 1:00 pm PT | 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm ET

Main Stage

Photo of Chloe x Halle
Photo of Laura Harrier
Photo of Sydel Curry-Lee
Photo of Natalie Patterson

Healing to our Own Rhythm: Chloe x Halle, Laura Harrier, and Sydel Curry-Lee in Conversation

Moderated by Natalie Patterson

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm PT | 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm ET
Photo of Dr Joy Bradford, Rwenshaun Miller, Ianne Fields Stewart & Imadé Nibokun

Roundtable: Remixing Mental Health for a Radical Black Future

2:00 pm - 3:00 pm PT | 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm ET
Photo of BEAM staff

Summit Closing & Appreciations with BEAM Team

with the BEAM Team

3:00 pm - 3:15 pm PT | 6:00 pm - 6:15 pm ET
Photo of DJ Amorphous

DJ Dance Party

3:15 pm - 4:00 pm PT | 6:15 pm ET - 7:00 pm ET

Freedom Pricing

Financial resources, including income, are not and should not be the only determining factor in whether or not someone can access services, care, or community spaces. Our pricing embodies our commitment to the conditions of equity and balance that ensures everyone can participate authentically. For this reason, tickets for Black Healing Remixed: The Summit can be purchased on a sliding scale.

Patron: If you have financial privilege and can contribute more than the true cost of the event for community support.

Attendee: If you have financial security and can pay for the true cost of the event.

Guest: If you have a financial need / vulnerability that prohibits you from paying for the true cost of the event.

Donation: To make this event accessible to everyone, please pay what you are able for admission to this event.

Register

Thank you to our Sponsors

PINK logo The Steve Fund logo BMMA logo

If you or someone you know needs immediate mental health support, please visit: https://www.beam.community/talktosomeone.

You can visit our Black Virtual Wellness Directory to find Black Wellness Support and Tool Kits

BEAM’s programs are meant for educational purposes only and are not substitutes for a relationship with a licensed or trained wellness practitioner. By attending this event, you agree that you understand that this program is not a clinical therapeutic service.